Song of the Day

STORY OF THE SEA
Own Devices


DOWNLOAD: Own Devices

Minneapolis is starting to look like a new breeding ground for edgy indie bands and one of the better ones that has suddenly become a must-see act if you find yourself in the greater Twin Cities area, Story of the Sea, caught my ear this morning with a couple of cuts off of their second album, Lunar Co. I wonder, is it too soon to coin the phrase, ”90’s revival”?!! ‘Cuz that’s kinda the feeling I get when I listen to Own Devices, with it’s slightly Pixies-esque arrangements complete with perky guitar riffs, thumpy bass runs and I-don’t-give-a-shit lyrical phrasings. I’m not sayin’ a 90’s revival is a bad thing, but the thought of it just kinda makes me feel old. But I’m diggin’ this regardless, and you can check ’em out on MySpace for some more.

sots

Leave a Reply

