Song of the Day – Two Times

I’ve had a lotta stuff goin’ on in the past week which has forced me to neglect my blog duties, but I picked up this month’s Esquire Music Issue and noticed that among the songs they say you MUST listen to were a bunch straight off of the Song of the Day List, including The Drive-By Truckers, Charlotte Gainsbourg, The Heavy and Bob Schneider…anyway, it got me thinking I had better get back on the horse and find some stuff for you guys to listen to before the threatening e-mails wondering where the music is begins. I also figured since me and Esquire seem to have similar tastes in music, I should prolly go see ’em…I haven’t worked for the magazine in ages!

Here at The List we have our favorites and God knows The Raveonettes certainly fall into that category. The second I heard ‘Love In A Trashcan’ off of their album Pretty in Black, I became a slack-jawed, drooling fanboy…kinda ridiculous for somebody my age, but the heart wants what the heart wants, and I just can’t get enough of Sharin Foo’s husky, sexy voice…it’s sorta like Nico without all that heroin. Well…no sooner did Sharin & Sune drop a new video for their single “Heart of Stone”, off last year’s ‘In and Out of Control’, and a bunch of covers by other artists start flying at me from every direction!

Psychedelic Brooklyn rockers Amazing Baby have slowed the pace and turned it into a morphine-fuzzy homage to Marc Bolan & T-Rex…..

AMAZING BABY
Heart Of Stone


DOWNLOAD: Heart Of Stone (Raveonettes cover)

…and going in a totally different direction, L.A.’s Dum Dum Girls have enveloped the song with a hollow, echoey surf guitar and a wall of reverb that sounds like a punked-out clone of The Shirelles!!!

DUM DUM GIRLS
Heart Of Stone (Raveonettes cover)


DOWNLOAD: Heart Of Stone (Raveonettes cover)

You can head on over to MySpace to check out both The Dum Dum Girls and Amazing Baby

2 thoughts on “Song of the Day – Two Times

Leave a Reply

