New Work – Robert Nardelli

Click on Any Image for Full-Size
______________________________

My tour of the nation’s boardrooms continued last week when I got to spend some time with Bob Nardelli, the ex-CEO of Home Depot and Chrysler, who is now at Cerberus Capital Management, one of the largest private equity investment firms in the country. His new gig has him running the Cerberus Operations and Advisory Company…a little portfolio that includes about 50 companies with combined revenues of nearly $50 billion. With that as his day job, it’s not too surprising that I was not going to be given a lot of time to do what I do, but I was further hamstrung when the location I wanted to shoot him in was deemed ‘too public’ and instead my only choice was…the boardroom.

The boardroom is always the first place I’m shown and usually the last place I wanna be! The person giving me the office tour typically says, “We’ve done a lot of photography in here!”, which makes me wonder why they think I would want to go where thousands have gone before, but beyond that, most boardrooms are just not that photo-friendly. They can be High-Tech or Old-World and as well-designed as possible, but there’s no gettin’ around the monstrously large table that inevitably takes up the bulk of the room. And even the best boardroom is usually kinda bland, overlit and without much drama. So to overcome these little obstacles I decided to get a bit dark and moody and make a shot that was more cinematic than real…..

…then, for a quick secondary photo, I decided to do one of my Artificial Portraits (above) that I could also serve as a nice setup for a tight portrait…..

5 thoughts on “New Work – Robert Nardelli

  1. Your use of light really brings life and atmosphere to even a dry and mundane location like a boardroom. Love your work.

  2. Hello Brad!

    I’m certainly missing some visualization skills, so I just wanted to confirm something 🙂

    Did you feather the 2 light*s in the Artificial Portrait? (both of them pointed to each other, and the subject a little behind this imaginary line)

    Thanks for sharing the BTS!
    Levy

    Feather the lights? Nah….they were pretty much aimed right at his head, but they both had 20 degree grids in the reflectors so the light was pretty spotty. And you do also know there’s a ringlight in there, right?!! BT

  3. I think you’ve just took out the best from the boardroom!
    The middle pic is just awesome! Dramatic and good ‘strong businessman’ look!
    (He looks a bit like ‘Gordon Gekko’ from ‘Wall street’ :-D)

Leave a Reply

