Song of the Day (Two Times)

KATIE HERZIG
Wish You Well


DOWNLOAD: Wish You Well

Wish You Well (Acoustic Live In-Studio)

DOWNLOAD: Wish You Well (Acoustic Live In-Studio)

So last week I drove 135 miles to see Brandi Carlile play at Infinity Hall up in Norfolk CT, and as good as Brandi was (and she was very good!) I left the concert with a handful of CD’s from the opening act…Katie Herzig. How this singer and (Grammy nominated) songwriter has stayed off my radar is a mystery, but now that I own the entire Katie Herzig songbook, that is no longer an issue! Each song I listen to reveals some new emotion…heartache, angst, lust and joyful happiness…it all flows from her in a euphoric wave that’s giving me goosebumps. In a soft, but strong, soprano, she delivers her smart, poetic lyrics without becoming overwrought or sappy…this is lyrical storytelling done well.

The two songs today are from different albums; the first is off of her last release of new material, ‘Apple Tree’, and the second is a reimagined acoustic version from ‘Live In Studio: Acoustic Trio’, a collection of her earlier songs recorded entirely unplugged. Check out more of Katie on her website or over on MySpace and for yet one more version of ‘Wish You Well’, check out this video of her singing it with Brandi…..

5 thoughts on “Song of the Day (Two Times)

  1. What a wonderful, smooth and calming song to listen to with my early morning coffee. Love it!!! Thanks!!

  2. I’m so glad I found your site. The last couple of days I have just been playing songs from your site. I just love it!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

