Palm Beach + July = Very, Very Hot !!!

Click on any image for Full-Size!

Back in July, Eric Godwin, the Photo Director at Bloomberg Markets magazine, asked me to head down to Palm Beach to photograph Chris Cline, a billionaire Coal Baron and head of Foresight Energy, one of the country’s largest producers of coal. As you can imagine, Palm Beach in July is just about as hot as a coal furnace, but with added humidity! Add to that our location…Cline’s 164-foot yacht, ‘Mine Games’…and we were in for a hot time in Florida!

Kaz and I got in a day early and on our scout we immediately were made aware of the quirks of trying to photograph a portrait using a prop as big as a yacht…the boat was in a rather tight slip with very little room to maneuver for good angle and the boat itself…while certainly large and luxurious…offered few spots to do the kind of shots I had in mind. But a couple of locations did jump out…


…this spot…shot from inside a hedge and through a bunch of tall grass…would let me stack up the boat behind him.

…and I thought it could be almost regal having him descending this staircase…

And I guess the Art Director was thinking the same thing when he named the story, “New King Coal”…..

One thing became very apparent as soon as the sun rose in the sky…since the entire deck was gleaming, shiny white…even slathered up with an SPF-50 sunscreen, my white ass was gonna fry like a lizard on a rock in the desert! I spent a lotta time re-greasing myself during the day and did a good job of not turning into a human lobster, but there was one place I neglected to coat…the inside of my nostrils! All that sun bouncing up and into my nose gave me the most excruciating sunburn I can remember, so for any of you who may have seen me after I got back from that trip with a finger up my nose…furiously scratching away…now you know why!

4 thoughts on “Palm Beach + July = Very, Very Hot !!!

  1. Very nice pictures thanks for sharing
    Your style is really inspiring.

    How did you managed to get the background in that blue tone but left him in a normal color (the in front of the boat shot)?

    Cheers,
    Sebastian

    Well…first off, I lit the shit outta him! We were using Profoto 2400w/s packs all around so that I could overlight the sun, and secondly…..Photoshop!!! BT

  2. Why anyone would consider Flooooooida heaven on earth is beyond me..LOL. Give me Montana any day or Tiberon in Marin County. Thats where a baller like that needs to set up camp

Leave a Reply

