R.I.P. Bud Greenspan

A million years ago…well, back in 1995…I photographed Bud Greenspan. Bud, of course, is famous for his documentaries about the Olympics. One of those touchstone memories I have from my childhood is being glued to the TV, watching them whenever they were aired. How could I ever have imagined that years later I would have the privilege to photograph the man behind these wonderful time capsules of history, but there I was, shooting him for the 1996 Olympic Program! We did the shots the art director wanted and then, just before he had to leave, I asked for one more moment of his time. If you knew anything about Bud, you probably remember seeing him behind a camera on the sidelines of an Olympic event, with those heavy glasses he wore sitting on the top of his bald head…that’s what I wanted to capture. A few quick Polaroids and we got it. A partially solarized negative with the director staring back at me…almost looking right through me…it’s always been one of my favorite portraits.

5 thoughts on “R.I.P. Bud Greenspan

  1. Love the pos-neg 2/14 image. Tinted and a bit solarized naturally I bet. This stuff had a natural tendency to do that if not treated right way. Love it Brad!

  2. I can’t believe how wise and insightful you’ve grown…..It’d be terribly upsetting if it weren’t so utterly delightful…And by the way, your way with words almost matches your photographic panache …

    Thanks, kid…I studied at the feet of some really talented writers in my early days! BT

  3. I remember being a 15 year old kid in the 70s watching his documentaries on the Olympics on PBS. His passion will be missed.

Leave a Reply

