Song of the Day

DOBIE GRAY
Drift Away


DOWNLOAD: Drift Away

I cried when I heard Dobie Gray died today. Crazy, huh? But for some reason I can remember exactly when I first heard ‘Drift Away’, the song that would define his entire musical career, and what that time meant to me. I was only 14, but God…when I heard the twang of the guitar that opened the song and then his deep, buttery smooth voice, it just cut right through me. And 38 years later, if that song comes on I feel the same way I did on that summer day when it first played through my Dad’s car radio…

4 thoughts on “Song of the Day

  1. Thank you for my memories listening to that beautiful song, and of you as that 14 year old sensitive sweet young boy/man.

Leave a Reply

