Drinking A Few Beers With DW Gibson

DW Gibson

Click on any image for Full-Size

DW Gibson is a writer and journalist whose work appears in publications like the Washington Post, the New York Times, New York Magazine, the Village Voice & The Daily Beast and is also a contributor to NPR’s All Things Considered. And over the past few years, he’s written extensively about New Yorkers who’ve been affected by gentrification. Here’s a little behind the scenes of my shoot for WirtschaftsWoche…one of my European clients…when they asked if I could shoot him in his own rapidly gentrifying neighborhood in Brooklyn…

Kaz and I started with a pretty simple setup in between DW’s house and his next door neighbors. I liked the way the design of the houses showed the type of architecture the neighborhood was comprised of, and it also allowed me to do one of my ‘Artificial Portraits’, since my editor at WiWo had specifically asked me to do at least one setup that showed my lighting kit…

dw_gibson_12530

DW Gibson

Did I mention it was about 100 degrees the day we were shooting? DW was very gracious and offered beer to keep us cool…

DW Gibson

Next, we crossed the street for a couple of portraits against a brick wall…

dw_bts

DW Gibson

DW Gibson

…and finally finished off with some views of his street…

DW Gibson

DW Gibson

…which opened our story…

dw_gibson_wiwo

6 thoughts on “Drinking A Few Beers With DW Gibson

  1. another perfectly executed gig, DUP. you are SO dialed in on the tech stuff (i mean, as well as the creative) 100º, all that gear, you musta been schvitzing pretty good. luv it!

  2. I am such a huge fan of your wonderful work. Thank you for posting all the great “behind the scenes” details. So, I noticed that the final printed image was color corrected to “more neutral/natural” instead of the blue cast. Did the magazine do this or ask you to modify the original cool color originals? Thanks and keep them coming!

    They were having a hard time reproducing my file…something to do with the RGB > CYMK conversion…so they just desaturated the Cyan. I like my version, but it’s hardly a deal breaker… BT

Leave a Reply

