Going Downtown With Petula Clark

Click on any image to Enlarge

Petula Clark…an 85 year-old, still touring, Honest-to-God, 100% Legend…and Kat Malott at the Wall Street Journal asked me to shoot her! As a kid, I remember my Mom playing Pet Clark records until they were almost worn out. When she was on Ed Sullivan or the Dean Martin show, the whole family would be locked in front of the TV. This shoot brought back so many memories from when I was young. It was just great…

Kaz an I walked into the studio and were met with a wall of windows throwing all kinds of cool shadows…

Sure…why not?!!

Next, I pulled out a dark blue canvas drop…

…which let me get a little more dramatic and played off nicely with the blue top she wore to the studio…

And finally, I kinda wanted to do an homage to a very famous portrait of Christine Keeler shot by David Bailey Lewis Morely from the 60’s…

…only brighter…

Maybe not that bright…

When Petula saw what we had set up, she remarked, “This is just like that famous photo of Christine Keeler by David Bailey!”

Here’s how it looked in the Wall Street Journal

Thanks for the memories, Pet…

6 thoughts on “Going Downtown With Petula Clark

  1. Great inspiration as always! Could I ask what size those Gravity backdrops you usually use for a shoot like this are?

    Cheers,
    Eivind

    That one is a medium…it’s about 6’3″ wide x 9’5″…I have a number of mediums, and a couple of smalls (5’4″ x 9’5″) BT

Leave a comment