I Love Chicago…

Click on any image for Full-Size

If you haven’t already guessed from my lack of posts recently, this month has been kinda busy here at Damn Ugly. Sorry ’bout that, but the necessity to work often gets in the way of me filling up the interweb with bloggy bits. So to get back in the saddle, I’m offering a little love letter to Chicago, where we found ourselves last week. I’ve been to Chicago a million times, but I was struck this trip by how much the city has changed…and I don’t just mean because of that gigantic Seward Johnson sculpture of Marilyn Monroe on Michigan Avenue. No, the city just feels more vibrant and polished. From the abundance of public spaces to the overwhelming amount of new buildings dotting the downtown area, everything just has a fresh energy about it. And on the one afternoon that wasn’t busy shooting I had a bit of time to take it all in. Between the iPhone Panorama’s, Hipstamatic shots and some stuff I did on the Canon, I built up a nice little portfolio of my walk around the Loop…..

Remember the Wilco album, ‘Yankee Hotel Foxtrot’?!!

I love that cover…and those buildings…

While I was looking upwards, I became momentarily fixated on streetlamps…

And yes…I know it’s very blue!

What a way to make a living…

Next, I ended up in front of Anish Kapoor’s ‘Cloud Gate’ at Millennium Park…

…and it’s Circus Funhouse Mirror appeal…

Walking back to the hotel I knocked off another iPhone PhotoSynth panorama along Wacker Drive…

…and some Hipstamatic prints…

And one last shot of Marilyn with a guy really happy to be in Chicago…

…and finally…back to New York…

6 thoughts on “I Love Chicago…

  1. Amazing architecture, gorgeous pics, great point of view…especially love the street lamps shots!

  2. I love photographing Chicago, there isn’t anything there NOT worth taking a picture of. Love the Photosynth!

  3. Fantastic work mate… I’m freshly inspired. Pop over to Dubai someday, you can find some serious architecture over here too!

    Yeah…David Hobby has been telling me I should teach a workshop at the Dubai shindig…..you know anybody who would wanna sit through three hours of me?!! BT

Leave a comment