So Mikhail Baryshnikov Says To Me…

Click on Any Image for Full-Size
______________________________


______________________________

That’s right…Baryshinkov! I can’t help but love my job, but when I get to meet some of the people I’ve been lucky enough to spend time with, even I hafta to step back from time to time and ask myself…really?!!

I’ve done a few gigs lately for the London Sunday Times, so when photo editor Sean McKillop called and asked if I wanted to shoot Mikhail Baryshnikov and his wife Lisa Rinehart up at their country house for the weekend ‘Home’ magazine, I didn’t skip a beat before saying yes. The couple was selling the centuries-old converted barn they’ve lived in since 1981 and I was there to not only get a few portraits of them, but also as many views of the house as possible. The only problem…Misha’s schedule was extremely limited and I would have no more than half an hour with the two of them. Of course, the Times wanted ‘four or five’ portrait situations, never mind that on the day we were to shoot it was about 38 degrees and pouring rain!

After a whirlwind tour of the house, we started by lighting what would be the cover image of the two of them at the front door to the house…

…..then very quickly set up two additional portraits in the sunroom (bathed in clouds)…

…and in front of a fireplace in the original part of the house…

With his part of the performance over, Misha bid us good day and I then got off a photo of Lisa relaxing with one of the many cats that share the house with them…

With the portraits out of the way, we then went about shooting as many detail shots as possible…

Thanks to Sean for the gig and thank you Misha & Lisa for allowing me the opportunity to spend a bit of time with you…

23 thoughts on “So Mikhail Baryshnikov Says To Me…

  1. awesome. great shots, great house. and man, you are tall! lol!

  2. Beautiful photos, Brad! I love that you got time with Lisa for some more personal photos of her with the cats, and the interior of their lovely home. Misha looks very handsome, and still so young. I especially like the photo of you with Misha & Lisa, Brad.

  3. RGT says you should have said to Misha, “Da svadonya” (at least that’s how it is pronounced.) adios/so long/goodbye. ☺

  4. Great shooting, Brad! Love the last picture. Hope you are doing well.

  5. Hi Brad,

    I follow your blog and appreciate the BTS and inspiration you provide.

    Why do you use a large color patch card instead of a gray or white card, or set in camera the preset WB, or other items like the colorchecker passport or expodisc?

    Thanks for the feedback.

    I’ve wondered when somebody was gonna ask me this questions. The truth is, even though we always shoot a few test frames with the MacBeth chart, 95% of the time I don’t even look at it…..I eyeball the color on my monitor and decide what looks best! When we set a white balance in Leaf Capture (or if I’m shooting with the Canon), I’ll just adjust the color temperature sliders until I get the overall color effect I’m looking for. Or at best, we’ll grey balance of of the chart, then mess with the final balance to make it more to my liking. I’m really not too concerned what the ‘real’ color is in my photographs…I just want the color to be the way I see it in my head! BT

  6. Love this! – Dreamy! I was that girl who saw The Turning Point 20 times in the theater!

  7. Holy shit. I got to see him dance in the early 90’s (when he was in his modern dance phase) with the WHite Oak Dance project.

  8. Incredible .. Saw him perform many years ago and he was truly amazing !

Leave a comment